I've Been Phighting Phishing

If you’ve wondered what I’ve been up too…

Since 1998, my major focus has been the NetCaptor browser. It was the first tabbed browser, and just about everyone else has copied the idea (including IE7?). In July last year I started moving in a new direction. My friend Blake Hayward and I founded CollectiveTrust Solutions, Inc. to build a world-class anti-phishing platform and software applications. 

I think we’ve succeeded. The product has been in beta and pilot with several customers since October and performed beyond our expectations. While other app miss a significant number of attacks, our product catches new sites over 99% of the time without using a block list. The application is remarkably effective – it just works.

More information on the company and the product will be forthcoming, but I wanted to give y’all some warning as I start blogging on phishing and fraud issues.

10 thoughts on “I've Been Phighting Phishing

  1. NetCaptor the first tabbed browser šŸ™‚ – That’s wrong…
    Opera introduced tabbed browsing a couple of years before that. Don’t know who really invented it, but the general opinion seems to support that Opera did. (It sure sounds like something they’d do; innovate… šŸ˜‰

  2. To Martin: NetCaptor 8.0 is not dead, though its moving a little slower than it would if I wasn’t involved in phishing. I don’t want to commit to a date that I can’t keep… but its still going.

    To eHans: Not sure what you mean about a compensation fight with MS… do you mean related to NetCaptor/tabbed browsing, or phishing? I’d certainly love to be compensated for the innovation I’ve produced, but current IP regs don’t necessarily require that.

  3. Adam,
    I’ve been a Netcaptor supporter of yours for many years, I can’t wait to see what you’ve done to prevent Phishing. Let me know if I can be of any help.

  4. Hey Adam,

    I’ve been a NetCaptor user for a few years and I just happened to stumble across your blog today. So this is what you’ve been up to šŸ™‚ Cool.

    Hope the phishing stuff goes well for you! Curious to see what you’ve done with it.

    And on the other hand, have you ever considered getting more people to work on NetCaptor (perhaps even make it open-source?) if you don’t have the time anymore? Its development sure has slowed down a lot the past few months and more people are using Maxthon, Avant, Firefox, etc. Of course, it’s your product and you can do whatever you want with it, but as a user, I just hope it’ll keep growing šŸ™‚

  5. Congrats! I am excited to see what comes out of it and aso have enjoyed the netcaptor software.

    I do want to point out though that the first commercial product displaying tabbed browsing that I am aware of was a PlaNET Technology product released in later 97 after IE4 was released. However the first more commercial success was KatieSoft which also displayed tabbed and split level windows. There are a few others I can think of as well leading into mid 98… not to take away anything though, as I have said, yours has certainly endured longer than other Windows client based apps.

  6. Ben – I’ve never heard of the PlaNET browser… perhaps you are thinking of NeoPlanet? They were big in late 97… though they didn’t have tabs. They had a links folder system that sorta used tabs, but you didn’t have mulitple independent browser windows.

    As for Katiesoft… they never had tabs. The big draw for Katiesoft was that you could have up to 4 browsers in 4 different panes, like window panes. No tabs though.

  7. Pingback: Nick Bradbury

Comments are closed.