Is Verizon Scared?

Nancy’s phone started acting weird about two weeks ago – turning itself on and off repeatedly – so that it was unusable. Its an LG VX-4600 that we got when we switched to Verizon a few months ago (AT&T/Cingular had serious coverage holes in Pasadena).

I called LG to ask about a replacement but they told me to talk to Verizon.

I called Verizon and was surprised at how chipper and helpful the support guy was… Here’s the gist of the conversation:

How can I help you? Oh, your phone is broken, let me send you a new one, right away. We’re so sorry about that. Is there anything else we can do to help?

Nancy’s new phone showed up a few days later, and a quick reprogram and she was off and running. I wish tech support for consumer products always worked that way. Has Verizon always offered this level of support, or are they ramping up because they’re scared of the AT&T/Cingular behemoth?

