Best Desktop Search Tool for Programmers

At least once a day I have to search my computer for source code. Sometimes I’m looking for an API function example, sometimes for something I wrote a long time ago, who knows. I’ve got source code in Delphi, PHP, Python, C#, and C++, and I need a way to find any string in any of these source code files. Delphi makes it easy to find Delphi stuff (though its not an indexed search) and Visual Studio is pretty good at finding C# and C++ code. But I don’t want to open several tools to have to search for each different file type. Shouldn’t I be able to do this in one place?

I tried X1 a while back, but I didn’t want to pay the $99 for it. Google Desktop Search looked promising, but I couldn’t find a way for it to treat .cpp, .h, .cs, .php, .py or other source code files as text files.

Copernic Desktop Search to the rescue! Its free, and its lets me tell it to index different types of files as text files – a perfect solution. Thank you Copernic! On a side note – it looks like Mamma is acquiring Copernic. Let’s hope they keep this tool available.

2 thoughts on “Best Desktop Search Tool for Programmers

  1. Pingback: Ryanware Blog » Desktop Search

Comments are closed.