Dadhood Tip #1

I really, really, really want to be a good dad. We’ve got three kids – Lauren is 6 and in first grade, Luke is 4 and in preschool, and Claire is 9 months old and follows us everywhere. I’ve got a long way to go to become the dad I want to be, but I thought I would share a few things I’ve learned along the way. So here’s dadhood tip #1:

Whenever possible, take your kids with you on errands

Kids love quality time with parents, even if its just running errands. Today I had to run to the bank, the grocery store (a card for Nancy’s birthday) and to a local coffee roaster. I probably could have gotten my errands done faster without the little rascal, but I took Luke with me so I could have "a helper". Errand time can be quality time if you ask a lot of questions, answer even more questions, think up lots of ways for your helper to help, and talk through everything! What are we doing, why are we doing it this way instead of that way, etc. Its a blast!

One thought on “Dadhood Tip #1

  1. Good tip, Adam. I also take my kids with me on errands – to the bank, to the grocery, to CompUSA, etc. – and we all enjoy it (except for the rare case of cranky outbursts, which come from me as often as the kids).

Comments are closed.