Trading Diet Coke for a HopeChild

I like Diet Coke… I really like Diet Coke. I’ve been a two-can-a-day-er for years (and before that, regular Coke) and this year consumption is definitely up as I compensate for baby-induced sleep deprivation with caffeine.

I’ve been reflecting on my habits and attempting to be more intentional about the things I do and the way I live life. Do I really want to be someone who drinks this much carbonated nutrasweet water? Not really – so I decided to give it up.

I don’t want to backslide on this, so I’ve given myself some extra incentive to stay the course. With the money I’m saving, I just sponsored a child through WorldVision’s HopeChild program. Milly is a 6-year old (who shares my birthday) living in Uganda who lost her father to HIV/AIDS. For $30 a month, I can help to make a difference in her life. I’m sure there’s a psychological term for trading a bad habit for a good one. Whatever it is, I’m doing it.

One thought on “Trading Diet Coke for a HopeChild

  1. Okay, that’s really cool, putting your money where your mouth is and helping make the world a better place. I’m reminded of Jack Nicholson in “About Schmidt.” Thanks Adam.

Comments are closed.