No IE tabs before Longhorn

Here’s a great interview with Gary Schare from Microsoft. I’ve talked to Gary several times and appreciate that Microsoft is turning attention to third-party developers (like me) who built tabbed browsers long before FireFox (NetCaptor in 1998).

Here’s my favorite quote:

We’ve looked at whether you can add tabs through a browser helper object or some other way of extending IE, and it turns out you can’t.

Bingo. If I it was possible to add tabs to IE via a BHO or other addon, I never would have written NetCaptor.

One thought on “No IE tabs before Longhorn

  1. I found that quite generous, too, that Schare mentioned three browsers by name. Let’s hope that even after Longhorn, there will be plenty of room for NetCaptor to capitalize on.

Comments are closed.